Fred Winter

Fred Winter - champion UK jockey and trainer - picture taken by the professional photographer, the late Leonard Robert Anslow, in the late 1960s or early 1970s.Frederick Thomas Winter CBE (20th September 1926 – 5th April 2004) was a British racehorse jockey and trainer. He was British jump racing Champion Jockey four times and British jump racing Champion Trainer eight times and is the only person to have won the Cheltenham Gold Cup, Champion Hurdle and the Grand National as jockey and trainer.

As a jockey Fred Winter won the Grand National four times. On Sundew in 1957, on Kilmore in 1962 and as a trainer, on Jay Trump in 1965 and on Anglo in 1966. His most famous win as a jockey was in 1962 on a horse called Mandarin in the Grand Steeple-Chase de Paris and in 2006 this victory was voted the greatest ever ride in the Racing Post poll. He won the race despite being unwell at the time and having very little control over his mount because not only had Mandarin broken his bit but then the horse practically broke down in the last half-mile of the race. The Guardian also listed this as one of the greatest horse races of all time. He retired as a jockey in 1964 and he held the record, at that time, of 923 National Hunt wins.

Frederick retired from training in 1988 after suffering a stroke, at which time his wife, Diana, became his devoted carer. After Fred’s death in 2004 John Francome, seven-time champion jockey said, "He was really loyal and inspired loyalty and was just an amazing guy, who you would call a really good man."

Major successes include:

Cheltenham Gold Cup (twice as a jockey and once as a trainer). Champion Hurdle (3 times as a jockey and 4 times as a trainer). Grand National (4 times). King George VI Chase (3 times as a jockey and twice as trainer)

He won 45 times at the annual Cheltenham Festival (17 times as jockey and 28 times as trainer) and is commemorated by the Fred Winter Juvenile Novices’ Handicap Hurdle at the annual meet.

His training career:

Stables: Uplands, Lambourn, Berkshire 1964-88

First runner and winner: Jay Trump, Sandown, October 21, 1964

Grand National winners: Jay Trump (1965), Anglo (1966)

Cheltenham Gold Cup: Midnight Court (1978)

Champion Hurdle winners: Bula (1971, 1972), Lanzarote (1974), Celtic Shot (1988)

Champion Chase winner: Crisp (1971)

Other Cheltenham Festival winners:

Bula (1970 Gloucestershire Hurdle, Div 2), Soloning (1970 Arkle Challenge Trophy, 1972 Cathcart Chase), Pendil (1972 Arkle Challenge Trophy), Killiney (1973 Totalisator Champion Chase), Soothsayer (1974 Cathcart Chase), Outpoint (1977 Joe Coral Golden Hurdle Final), Venture To Cognac (1979 Sun Alliance Novices’ Hurdle, 1984 Foxhunter Chase), Roller-Coaster (1979 Cathcart Chase), Stopped (1980 Grand Annual Chase), Rolls Rambler (1980 Foxhunter Chase), Derring Rose (1981 Stayers’ Hurdle), Friendly Alliance (1981 Grand Annual Chase), Brown Chamberlin (1982 Sun Alliance Chase), Observe (1983 Cathcart Chase, 1987 Foxhunter Chase), Half Free (1984 Mildmay of Flete Chase, 1986 Cathcart Chase, 1987 Cathcart Chase), Glyde Court (1985 Kim Muir Memorial Chase, 1986 Kim Muir Memorial Chase)

Other significant winners:

Royal Sanction (1966 Imperial Cup), Into View (1970 Welsh Champion Chase, Black & White Gold Cup), Bula (1970 Benson & Hedges Hurdle, 1971 Welsh Champion Hurdle, 1973 Black & White Whisky Gold Cup), Pendil (1972 Welsh Champion Chase, Black & White Whisky Gold Cup, Benson & Hedges Chase, King George VI Chase, 1973 Massey-Ferguson Gold Cup, King George VI Chase), Lanzarote (1973 Imperial Cup, Christmas Hurdle, 1975 Welsh Champion Hurdle, Christmas Hurdle), Acquaint (1977 Imperial Cup), Prayukta (1980 Imperial Cup), Fifty Dollars More (1982 Mackeson Gold Cup, 1983 Kennedy Construction Gold Cup), Observe (1982 Kennedy Construction Gold Cup), Brown Chamberlin (1983 Hennessy Cognac Gold Cup), Half Free (1984 Mackeson Gold Cup, 1985 Mackeson Gold Cup), Plundering (1986 Whitbread Gold Cup), Celtic Shot (1987 Mecca Bookmakers’ Hurdle)

Last runner and winner: Stag Dinner, Stratford, 4 June 1988

Champion trainer: 8 times: 1970/71 to 1974/75; 1976/77, 1977/78, 1984/85.

Most wins in a season: 99 in 1975/76

Total wins over jumps in Britain: 1,557 in 24 seasons (1964-88)

Main jockeys: Eddie Harty 1964-68, Bobby Beasley 1968-69, Paul Kelleway 1969-72, Richard Pitman 1972-75, John Francome 1975-85, Ben de Haan/Jamie Duggan 1985-86, Peter Scudamore 1986-88

About msanslow

An affiliate marketer, living in the UK.
This entry was posted in Fred Winter. Bookmark the permalink.